The dissertation entitled Fish-Ridge Turbine Modeling in the Oscillating Water Column (OWC) led Nurul Hiron to achieve his 46th Doctorate degree at the Faculty of Engineering, Udayana University

Doctoral Study Program in Engineering, Faculty of Engineering, Udayana University on Monday 7 November 2022, at 14.00 WITA at the Wiswakarma Hall, Udayana University, held the 46th open examination (Doctoral promotion). Promovendus on behalf of Nurul Hiron with a dissertation title Fish-Ridge Turbine Modeling in Oscillating Water Column (OWC) as a Wave Power Plant. Promovendus passed with a very satisfactory predicate.



Dr. Nurul Hiron, ST., MM., M.Eng in his presentation said that one of the ocean wave energy conversion techniques uses Oscillating Water Column (OWC) technology, but currently OWC is built only for high waves, while at low waves so far it has not been used. attention because it requires a special turbine design. The purpose of this study is to propose a solution for energy conversion from low ocean waves into electrical energy using OWC with the implementation of a fish-ridge turbine. The results show that the performance of the fish-ridge turbine in the OWC system produces 253 watts of energy in the chamber, and only 70 watts or 28% can be absorbed by the turbine as kinetic energy that can be used to rotate an electric turbine.



Acting as the leader of the session was the Coordinator of the Doctoral Study Program in Engineering, Faculty of Engineering, Udayana University, Prof. Dewa Made Priyantha Wedagama, ST., MT., MSc., Ph.D,. As the promoter is Prof. Ir. Ida Ayu Dwi Giriantari, M.Eng.Sc., Ph.D., IPM, co-promoters I and II are I Nyoman Satya Kumara, S.T., M.Sc., Ph.D. and Dr. Ir. Lie Jasa, M.T. Acting as a buffer is Prof. Dr. eng. Aripin (Siliwangi University-Tasikmalaya-West Java), Prof. Ir. Rukmi Sari Hartati, M.T., Ph.D, Prof. I Nyoman Suprapta Winaya, S.T., M.A.Sc., Ph.D,., IPM. Prof. Ir. Linawati, M.Eng.Sc., Ph.D., Prof. Dewa Made Priyantha Wedagama, ST., MT., MSc., Ph.D, Dr. Ida Bagus Gede Manuaba, S.T., M.T., and Ir. Wayan Gede Ariastina, S.T., M.Eng.Sc., Ph.D. There were three academic invitations consisting of Dr. Ir. Nundang Busaeri, M.T. (Rector of Siliwangi University-Tasikmalaya-West Java), Dr. Ir. I Nyoman Setiawan, M.T. and Dr. Ir. Ida Bagus Alit Swamardika, M.Erg., IPM